20120709-214148.jpg

I watched my mom and dad get up and go to work everyday, and now that I am older I can’t help but to wonder did they really enjoy what they did for a living? Like most high school students we all have expressed what we felt our career goals and choices would be. A pediatrician, a doctor, a lawyer, etc. knowing all too often those career goals are not achieved. My mom worked for over 20 years as a grocery store clerk, and my father as a recreation supervisor. Both honorable careers, that kept food on our table, gave me and my sister the best, it took us on vacations, and even we were not rich we were not poor by a long shot. At least as kids it didnt seem like it. But I can’t help but to wonder, was that the career that they dreamed of doing? Was that the career they dreamed of as a child. Or did they like so many others end up in a job that pays the bills due to circumstances. VERY FEW PEOPLE IN LIFE GET TO DO WHAT THEY LOVE AND GET PAID FOR IT. Very few people get to follow their life passion and make a good living from it. I remember my late aunt, as I would pick her up from her first job as a food service worker at a hospital to a job as a security night watchman. And she would tell me make sure I got my education. And maybe thats why so many of our elders had the same advice because they did not want to see us fall into the same situation.

I AM BLESSED to be able to do something I love and make a decent living at it. I couldn’t see doing anything else with my life. Though it is very difficult at times I wouldn’t trade it for anything else. Sometimes I walk away from the office and can’t believe I actually get paid to do this. I recognize that this opportunity is not afforded to everyone, and I am blessed to be able to do something that I am gifted to do and get paid for it.

At the end of the day I get great consolation in knowing that I gave my life in the service of helping others and I love my job

20120709-214124.jpg

